Say your Name

– Daily Prompt:
Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?

Coincidently it is my birthday today, and I have been prompted to write about my Identity: my name by ‘The Daily Post’s 365 Days of writing Prompts’.

My name is Tanya Jain. When I was born, my parents had given me the name ‘Kritika’. It is a Sanskrit word thst means Pleiades which is a well-known cluster of stars in constellation Taurus. They are also known as the Seven Sisters. Girls with this name are said to be spiritually involved, often lost in thought, philosophising and can be quite eccentric (unconventional and strange). They are ought to be successful in analytical field.

But due to my parent’s belief in Numerology, my name was changed to Tanya. I had decided this name which has been originated from Russia and is a pet name for Tatiana. It is a name of a Fairy Queen. Though it does not have a specific meaning, it is referred to as ‘Worth of Praise’.

Both the names hold a special place in my heart and are a part of my identity. As it is said that names have effect on one’s personality, I believe both the names have contributed to it.

I find the names – ‘Kritika’ as well as ‘Tanya’ beautiful and can’t stop loving them!

Leave a Reply

